The cookie settings on this website are set to 'allow all cookies' to give you the very best experience. Please click Accept Cookies to continue to use the site.

Types of ELISA

There are 5 main ELISA types used to determine protein concentration:

  • Direct
  • Indirect
  • Sandwich
  • Competitive
  • ELISpot

Direct ELISA

The direct ELISA detection method uses a labelled primary antibody which reacts directly with the antigen on the protein of interest. Direct detection can be performed when the antigen of interest is directly immobilized on the plate or in capture assay format.